Travel Recommendations

  For those with a Military bent, a short detour to this garden of remembrance is of great interest. The garden has the coat of arms of many S.A. Regiments dating from the Boer War through to WWII, a memorial to the Hamshire Regiment who died in a rail crash in Easter 1902 killing many of its members. Also included are monuments in the Barberton Cemetery commemorating concentration camp members.

Bergendal battle fought on 27 August 1900, represents to the Boers, the courage of their men in the face of overwhelming odds.It also represented the last stand of the ZARPS (Zuid-Afrikaansche Republiek Polisie), force of 74, as a unit,  commanded by Sarel Oosthuizen of whom, 40 were killed or injured in the ensuing battle featuring heavy artillery fire.

  Kruger National Park, proclaimed in 1898 by Paul Kruger (Sabie Game Reserve from 1898 to 1926), is globally reknowned for its wild life, but there is also a wide diversity of flora, from the Crocodile River in the south to the Limpopo River in the north, a distance of 360 kilometers, and encompasing an area of 19485 square kilometers.

Moremi and the Kwai Concession are on the northern regions of the Delta. Moreme is a national game park, whilst the Kwai Conceesion is a community controlled area, where operators are allowed to establish eco friendly establishments, with strict compliance requirements. This album has images from Moremi, the Concession and Sango Lodge within the concession area.

  [caption id="attachment_15950" align="aligncenter" width="551"] Swartberg Pass winding down towards Prince Albert[/caption]   North of the Cango valley is the Swartberg Pass. Prior to the building of this pass there were only two unreliable passes through the Swartberg,connecting the Little Karoo and Big Karoo, that were often impassable.

  This lower road through the Swartberg between Prince Albert and Oudsthorn was pioneered by P.J. Meiring who farmed in the pass . The first road was built in 1857 by A.G.De Smit and the 16 km pass opened in 1858. The road crossed the river 21 times which made it impassable during wet conditions. An upgraded tar road with causeways, shortening the road but now with 30 river crossings.

  Standerton, which lies on the banks of the Vaal River war founded in 1878, and named after the Boer leader Commandant A.H. Stander.

For the elephant addicts a visit to Addo will be especially rewarding. The park is about an hours drive from Port Elizebeth, ( 72kms), and as such is very convenient for fly-in visitors who can self drive or make arrangements with local operators. The reserve has very comfortable self catering chalets and for those who wish to be catered for the main camp has a good restuarant.